Rhythm Rainbow

Last week we made a rhythm rainbow.

rhythm rainbow

The idea of the rhythm rainbow is to focus on the rhythm throughout the day. Within each section of the rainbow there are certain tasks to be done. Morning is always where we accomplish the most, learning, playing and doing chores. By the afternoon it is time to start slowing down and doing more relaxed/restful things. The girls play, read or do crafts and I rest, relax, maybe take a bath or read. The evening winds down and we have dinner and then some family time together before bedtime. The sun rises again the next morning and we begin all over again.

1. The first part of the rainbow (red) is WAKE

  • Get dressed
  • Eat Breakfast
  • Be Grateful
  • Stretch
  • Yoga
  • Pray
  • Find Your Center
  • Begin


2. The second part (orange) is LEARN

  • Color
  • Draw
  • Write
  • Paint
  • Read
  • Create
  • Act
  • Sensory
  • Sew
  • Play Music
  • Dance


around here october


3. The third part (yellow) is PLAY

  • Go Outside
  • Walk
  • Board Games
  • Cards
  • Dress-Up
  • Sing
  • Dance
  • Imagine




4. The fourth part (green) is CHORES

  • Errands
  • Clean
  • Wash
  • Wipe
  • Sweep
  • Organize
  • Tidy
  • Put Away
  • Dust
  • Meal Prep (cook or bake)



5. The fifth part (blue) is RECHARGE

  • Have a snack
  • Take a bath
  • Take a nap
  • Read
  • Sit
  • Lay Down
  • Watch a movie
  • Listen to music
  • Breathe



6. The sixth part (indigo) is FAMILY TIME

  • Talk
  • Share
  • Cuddle
  • Be present
  • Listen
  • Care
  • Touch

Craig and I give each other massage regularly and so now the kids have been asking me to massage them too. It is nice to give and receive touch everyday, whether it is a hug, cuddling or massage. Touch is so important. Serafina loves getting a massage.

7. The seventh part (violet) is SLEEP

  • Jammies
  • Brush Teeth
  • Read (bedtime stories)
  • Pray
  • Hug
  • Kiss
  • Dream


And that is what our daily rhythm is looking like these days. 🙂